Penalties & Punishment

California DUI penalties can be costly and/or serious. In addition to these penalties, there are many negative consequences that may follow. The penalties for a DUI conviction in California are listed below. This list includes not only the California DMV consequences, but also the punishment for a California DUI conviction, as imposed by the courts. The punishment that is imposed by the court will vary on a case by case basis.

First DUI Offense

  • Probation: from 3 to 5 years informal probation
  • Jail Time: 48 hour minimum, 6 month maximum/li>
  • Fines & Fees: Varies between $1400 to $1800/li>
  • DUI School: 3 to 6 months, depending on blood-alcohol level/li>
  • Driver License Suspension: 6 months/li>

Second DUI Offense

  • Probation: from 3 to 5 years informal probation/li>
  • Jail Time: 96 hour minimum, 1 year maximum/li>
  • Fines & Fees: Varies between $1400 to $1800/li>
  • DUI School: 18 months/li>
  • Driver License Suspension: 2 year suspension/li>

Third Offense

  • Probation: from 3 to 5 years (informal or supervised probation)/li>
  • Jail Time: 120 day minimum, 1 year maximum/li>
  • Fines & Fees: Varies between $1400 to $1800/li>
  • DUI School: 18 months/li>
  • Driver License Suspension: 3 years/li>

Fourth Offense or More (felony offense)

  • Probation: If granted, supervised/li>
  • Jail Time: 180 days to 1 year jail, or 16 months to 3 years prison/li>
  • Fines & Fees: Varies between $1400 to $1800/li>
  • DUI School: 18 months/li>
  • Driver License Suspension: 4 years/li>

DUI cases involving injuries are very serious and an experienced DUI lawyer should be contacted immediately.

A 2nd, 3rd, or 4th DUI is one that occurs within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction.

If you have been arrested for a DUI, it is crucial that you act fast and preserve certain rights that you will lose if you delay. Please contact California Criminal Defense Center to schedule a confidential and free consultation with a highly experienced DUI lawyer. You can email us by completing the Free Consultation form, or may call us toll free at 1-800-4-DUI-LAW (1-800-438-4529).