DUI Attorney Huntington Beach
Driving under the influence in Huntington Beach, California will a criminal offense which will likely land you in jail. Huntington Beach is known for having one of the highest rates of DUI violations in Orange County. Consequently, DUI enforcement is strong throughout the city. You will subsequently have to appear on your criminal case in the West Justice Center located in Westminster, California.
If you are convicted, you face fines and court fees of nearly $2000.00 in addition to other penalties. Some of these penalties may include confinement in jail or community service. A DUI conviction will require you to complete an approved alcohol program as a condition of probation and in order to have your driving privileges reinstated. Some of the more long-term difficulties of a DUI conviction may include higher insurance premiums and interference with job opportunities.
In Huntington Beach, as in every part of California, you will be charged with a DUI if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content of .08% or higher. Oddly, in some cases you may even be charged if your blood alcohol level is under .08% under section 23152(a) of the California Vehicle Code. If you are convicted of a first offense, you face a maximum penalty of 6 month in jail, although jail is seldom imposed under normal circumstances. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for a period of six months, you must complete an alcohol program, and you will be required to purchase a SR-22 insurance policy before your license is reinstated.
If you are convicted of a second offense DUI within a ten-year period, you will be required to spend a minimum of 96 hours in jail, with a maximum jail sentence of 1 year. Most judges and prosecutors have customarily imposed a jail sentence of 45 to 90 days for a 2nd DUI in Huntington Beach. Upon conviction, your driver’s license will be suspended for two years with the possibility of getting a restricted license after 1 year. While still a misdemeanor, a 3rd DUI violation within 10 years is very serious and can result in habitual traffic offender status. You can be confined in jail for a minimum of 120 days and a maximum of 1 year. A 4th violation is typically charged as a felony.
Following your arrest, you will likely be taken to the Huntington Beach jail to submit to a chemical test and for booking. In most cases, you will be detained for 6-12 hours and then released on your own recognizance.
If you are arrested, please contact the law office of Ardalon Fakhimi at California Criminal Defense Center within 10 days of the date of your arrest. We will provide you with a free case evaluation and let you know what action you will need to take to protect your rights. It is important to contact us promptly as some of the rights related to your driving privileges are time sensitive. We have a strong rapport and familiarity with the judges and prosecutors in the Westminster Court (West Justice Center).